Wellicious is a sustainable brand is Cradle to Cradle certified

Exploring the Four Levels of Cradle to Cradle Certification

All of our Wellicious yoga products are Cradle to Cradle Certified® Gold by the Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute, and have received the highest Platinum award for material health, reinforcing our commitment to environmentally responsible and socially conscious product development.

As part of this broader sustainability movement, the concept of sustainability has gained immense importance in recent years as our planet faces environmental challenges. Cradle to Cradle (C2C) certification has emerged as a leading framework for assessing and promoting environmentally responsible and socially equitable products and processes. C2C certification recognizes products and systems that  follow a regenerative, rather than a degenerative, approach to sustainability.

The Cradle to Cradle Certification Program is structured into four distinct levels, each with its unique set of criteria and objectives. Here, we will explore the differences of the four, shedding light on how they contribute to a more sustainable future.

Cradle to Cradle certification levels

1. Bronze Certification 

The first and foundational level of Cradle to Cradle certification is known as "Bronze Certification." At this level, a product or material is assessed based on its environmental and social performance. To achieve Bronze Certification, a product must meet the following criteria:

a. Material Health: This criteria focuses on the safety of materials used in the product. It requires that all ingredients and components are assessed for potential health risks and that they are disclosed.

b. Material Reutilization: This aspect evaluates the recyclability and reusability of the product's components. The goal is to create a product that can be easily disassembled and its materials returned to the industrial ecosystem.

c. Renewable Energy and Carbon Management: This criterion emphasizes the use of renewable energy sources in the product's manufacturing process, reducing its carbon footprint.

d. Water Stewardship: Ensuring responsible water usage and minimizing water pollution are key elements of this category.

e. Social Fairness: Basic Certification also takes into account fair labor practices and the overall social impact of the product's production

2. Silver Certification

The second level of Cradle to Cradle certification is "Silver Certification." To attain this level, a product must meet all the requirements for Bronze Certification and achieve additional benchmarks:

a. Continuous Improvement: This level demands that the product or material exhibits a continuous improvement plan, demonstrating a commitment to evolving and optimizing its environmental and social performance over time.

b. Energy Efficiency: Silver Certification encourages energy-efficient manufacturing processes, as well as the utilization of renewable energy sources, to a higher degree than Basic Certification.

c. Water Stewardship: Further improvements in water management are required at this level, aiming for even more responsible water usage and pollution prevention.

d. Social Fairness: Silver Certification pushes for better working conditions and social equity practices.

3. Gold Certification (all Wellicious Products are Gold Certified!)

Gold Certification is the third level of Cradle to Cradle certification, and it signifies a considerable commitment to sustainability. In addition to meeting all the criteria for Bronze and Silver Certifications, a product seeking Gold Certification must excel in the following areas:

a. Optimization: Products must exhibit a higher level of optimization in terms of material health, material reutilization, energy efficiency, and water stewardship.

b. Net Positive: This level requires products to make a net positive contribution to society and the environment, emphasizing not only reducing harm but also creating positive impacts.

c. Social Fairness: Gold Certification pushes for even more equitable and ethical labour practices and social responsibility.

Wellicious Cradle to Cradle Certifications

4. Platinum Certification (we are Platinum Certified for Material Health!)

The pinnacle of Cradle to Cradle certification is "Platinum Certification." To reach this level, a product must meet all the requirements for Bronze, Silver, and Gold Certifications, and exceed them in various ways:

a. Innovation: Platinum Certification encourages groundbreaking innovations in product design, manufacturing processes, and sustainability practices. It requires products to push the boundaries of what is currently possible in terms of environmental and social performance.

b. Leadership: Products at this level are expected to be leaders in their industry, setting high standards for others to follow.

c. Social Fairness: Platinum Certification sets the highest bar for social responsibility and fairness, aiming to make a significant, positive impact on communities and workers.

Cradle to Cradle Certification is a holistic approach to sustainability that not only focuses on reducing environmental impact but also on creating positive social and economic change.

The four distinct levels of C2C certification, from Bronze to Platinum, provide a clear roadmap for companies and organizations to improve their products and processes continually. By striving for higher levels of certification, we can contribute to a more sustainable and regenerative future, where products are designed with the well-being of both people and the planet in mind.

If you want to read more about the levels of Certification, check the Cradle to Cradle Institute website here.

Until next time, 


Your Wellicious Team